Change of plans... going for Security+

LaminiLamini Member Posts: 242 ■■■□□□□□□□
I got my A+ some 5yrs ago as a hobby... i bought my sybex Network+ book in 2004 immediately after wondering how I passed the A+, and have read it probably 5 or 6 times since then, along with the Thompsons/Prometric Net+ In Depth several times.

My problem with this self study course is that while it is economical, it gets frustrating with all the distractions in life!!!! I would promise myself to read the entire book and make a set of flashcards, only 1 week later to find out that my work will put me on travel for the next month... etc (travel often)

My confidence for the Net+ was low as far as taking the test as I have no experience (my job is not IT), however i do understand it... i can hang out with the network/security guys and while not knowing all the lingo, do understand when theyre not encrypting their words

Anyway, Ive been lurking these forums for couple years wondering when I'll finally settle down and take my Net+, last week I find a local boot camp course for Security+/CISSP (and wont offer again till Sep), not some other place i'll have to fly to or pay for hotels, but actually local. of course my work wont pay for it as Im not IT, but I did get the objectives and I... so far have not had too much difficulty following the Tech Notes... maybe theres something Im missing.