Getting started

ian gian g Member Posts: 29 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been working as an aircraft technician for the last twelve years and I desperately want to get out of aviation and into I.T. (stop laughing - the aviation industry has been a crappy place to work for years now!)I'm not short of experience in troubleshooting expensive and very critical systems, but outside of lab time at school and my own VM networks, I have no hands-on network experience. I'm not in a hurry to ditch my secure job, but I'd like to position myself for the day this economy picks up and I can make my move toward network administration.
My question to you experienced I.T. types is this: How can I best spend my time getting ready for my first job applications?
To complicate matters, I am presently making around 55k, and could'nt stand to take too massive a pay cut - yes I know I'll take a big hit to start with. I know the general rule is to start in desktop support and work up from there, but is there anything I can do now to start a little further up the ladder?
The story so far: AAS in Computer Information Systems (Networking specialization), CCNA, MCP (passed 290, 291, working on 270 & Security+ for my MCSA). Lots of lab time with Cisco switches, routers, and PIX's.
Should I keep working on certs or try to get my Bachelors?
Any and all advice is much appreciated!!

Comments

• murdatapesmurdatapes Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
    ian g wrote: »
    The story so far: AAS in Computer Information Systems (Networking specialization), CCNA, MCP (passed 290, 291, working on 270 & Security+ for my MCSA). Lots of lab time with Cisco switches, routers, and PIX's.
    Should I keep working on certs or try to get my Bachelors?

ian. thats a pretty good story to start off with man. Bachelors? I would. I mean you have a good start for what you have now, so I would keep going. It's not like its going to hurt you. Bachelors and certs.
    Next up