Options

CCIE Security: newb questions

wera711wera711 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am a CISSP, CCSP and CCNP. I am looking to pursue the CCIE Security in 2010. How do I know if I have enough experience to pursue this cert? I know the written is probably very tough, but I am more worried about the lab. Currently I work a lot with ASAs, Pix's, L3 switches etc. I'm a Network Administrator and have about 18 remote sites total which I manage.

I would be interested to hear others opinons. I personally have never met, nor do I currently know any CCIEs. So I have no one to ask. What about boot camps? I have never used one before, but I am considering it for the lab portion of the exam.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    JavonRJavonR Member Posts: 245
    I would check out Ahriakin's sticky (CCIE Security Diary/Blog) at the top of this forum. That should give you a general idea of what material you need to know, etc. Good luck.
  • Options
    binaghimirebinaghimire Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi looks like we both are in same situation...I'm not CISSP..but I'm CCSP and CCNP ..I work on security on my company...mainly work on pixes,ASAs ,Switches and Access Points..I'm planning to go for CCIE..but not sure whether to go for CCIE R & S or for CCIE security.
    Would you like to be my study partener ..may be we can discuss about this and plan studies accordingly..
    And also where are you based...

wera711 wrote: »
    Hi all,

I am a CISSP, CCSP and CCNP. I am looking to pursue the CCIE Security in 2010. How do I know if I have enough experience to pursue this cert? I know the written is probably very tough, but I am more worried about the lab. Currently I work a lot with ASAs, Pix's, L3 switches etc. I'm a Network Administrator and have about 18 remote sites total which I manage.