Options

Do JOB sites work?

coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have sent my resume around to so many advertised jobs. I am starting to feel that they are not for real, I have never heard from anyone, ever. I am not actively looking for a job but more or less trying to evaluate myself as to where I stand in the job market.

What is you guys' take on it, have you been able to land jobs through these job sites?

Just so you know I have little over 1 year experience, I am not sure how much that would factor in for.

Comments

• Options
    KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
    Some job sites are a lot better than others. Some become a complete nightmare from the moment you put your resume on them as they are trawled by wannabe self employed "recruiters" trying to go it alone using you as their meal ticket. (monster, fish, et al.)

I've no idea about good ones in the states but in the UK, jobserve is a very good one and only legitimate agencies can get your details.

One thing I did which worked out very well long term, was to look through job sites and look for popular agencies and then apply directly to that agency. Once I was on their books, I had work coming in all the time. I still kept looking at job sites too but without so much preassure.
    Kam.
  • Options
    Kaminsky wrote: »
    One thing I did which worked out very well long term, was to look through job sites and look for popular agencies and then apply directly to that agency.

By agency, do you mean the recruiter?
  • Options
    nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    coffeeking wrote: »
    By agency, do you mean the recruiter?

Yes thats what he means.