Options

School advice

NobylspoonNobylspoon Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□
I haven't been very active in the past few months due to a busy semester but I figured I would swing by for a bit of advice from you guys.

I am currently working on an Associates in InfoSec at my local community college but unfortunatly none of the universities in my area offer a 4 year degree in it so I am looking into the private schools. My plan was originally to attend Capella after my associates is complete.

I am a vet and I still have alot of my GI Bill left, under the new Post 9-11 GI Bill my state is one of the highest paying for tuition which basically means tuition cost is not a deciding factor since it will be covered. One catch though is if I am taking classes local then I will receive a $1500 check every month for my living expenses but if I attend an online school such as Capella I will not get that monthly check.

I know ITT Tech isn't looked the most highly upon but they are in my area and offer a bachelors in InfoSec. Tuition would be covered and I would still get the check for my living expenses. That being said would that school be a sound choice or would I be better off giving up my monthly check and attending an online school like Capella.

My concern is I have read alot of talk online about people saying they have had trouble getting a job because they went to ITT Tech. Is there any truth to those statements?
WGU PROGRESS

MS: Information Security & Assurance
Start Date: December 2013

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Keep in mind that the long-term benefits of a good degree will outweight that $1500/mo. I'd go with the best program you can get into, regardless of how that factors into it.
  • Options
    wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□