Options

1710 routers any good?

adeeteeadeetee Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
Guys, A friend of mine is being kind and sending me couple of 1710 routers with cables n all.

Those are old routers, and have his organization's config which will give me some food for thought.

Question is, Are they any good for practice? Will they work with more functions if I update them with currect IOS image... I am new to real labs.. Thought of doing so as I am preparing for ICND2..

Not sure what else to ask as of now, but will definitely have more questions when I receive them..
Wish List :
CISSP...

Comments

• Options
    captobviouscaptobvious Member Posts: 648
    adeetee wrote: »
    Guys, A friend of mine is being kind and sending me couple of 1710 routers with cables n all.

Those are old routers, and have his organization's config which will give me some food for thought.

Question is, Are they any good for practice? Will they work with more functions if I update them with currect IOS image... I am new to real labs.. Thought of doing so as I am preparing for ICND2..

Not sure what else to ask as of now, but will definitely have more questions when I receive them..
    Anything for free is good, right?

Cisco 1710 Security Access Router
    The Cisco 1710 provides a complete security access solution in a single device, with high-speed encryption, stateful inspection firewall, intrusion detection system (IDS), VPN tunnel server, and Cisco IOS® multiprotocol routing. This integration reduces deployment and management time and expense because fewer devices and cables need to be installed and configured. An integrated product also saves space and increases reliability because fewer standalone devices are needed to build a solution. The Cisco 1710 simplifies ongoing support of small branch offices from a central site through remote configuration, monitoring, and troubleshooting of all integrated functions in the security router.