Wow managed to finally shift IT careers

stlsmoorestlsmoore Member Posts: 515 ■■■□□□□□□□
Well I just posted on the CCNA forums a few weeks ago about gaining my certification. A little over a week later I landed my first official Networking role as a NOC Technician today. Even though it's entry level I'm positive that this is what I want to do! I'm 22 but I have had over 5 years experience in IT dealing with mainly Microsoft products. My last contract I was making good money for my age (between $58,000-60,000) but I absolutely loathed what I was doing. I really wasn't happy with life and always envied the Network Engineers who got to come in and mess with all the stuff I wanted to do.

Two months ago I finally did something about it and spent days/nights studying absorbing and loving everything I was learning about the networking world. Even though I'm making half the pay almost this finally feels like I'm going in the right direction. I just wanted to say to all of the posters on here is to keep studying and pushing yourself to get to where you want to be! Next up on my cert list is probably CCNA:Security then on to CCNP, maybe even get into VoIP since this company deals with a lot of it.
My Cisco Blog Adventure: http://shawnmoorecisco.blogspot.com/

Don't Forget to Add me on LinkedIn!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/shawnrmoore

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Congrats!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Glad to hear your hard work is paying off for you icon_cool.gif
  • sambuca69sambuca69 Member Posts: 262
    stlsmoore wrote: »