Options

A+ Certified Technicians only!

DerekAustin26DerekAustin26 Member Posts: 275
So I've been A+ Certified for a little over 6 months now. I scored high on my test! 890

I studied hard for it too. Read 2 books and applied some of the labs and instructions given.

I work in a Network Operations Center dealing with networks and yes sometimes have to do some minor troubleshooting on my pc cuz pc's generally have their problems.

The thing is, when there is a pc issue, i dont seem to "quick" to resolve the software/hardware issue. I just dont really feel like a "Certified Tech" esp for scoring so high.

Anyone got any ideas I can do to sharpen up or to stay updated or whatever I need to do to become or feel more like a professional or someone who is confident at fixing PC issues?

Anyone else feel like this or know how i can overcome this?

Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    wweboywweboy Member Posts: 287 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Honestly I think your just being to hard on yourself, not everyone can quickly troubleshoot as fast as others. How much experience do you have under your belt? also how long have you been using computers and do you enjoy using them outside of work?

If you want more to check out the MCDST or Linux+ exams.
  • Options
    I got about 2 years of Desktop Support and yes I enjoy using pc's outside of work. I've never been a field services tech or anything.
  • Options
    gravyjoegravyjoe Member Posts: 260
    I believe what you're going through is actually normal. Getting the A+ is just the very beginning of the journey. There are SOOO many issues that can occur (especially on the PC side of things), and there's no way to know them all. I think of the A+ as something that helps you steer in the right direction, so you won't be totally clueless. At least you'll know, "Hey, I read about that before", or "Yeah, I seen that in the book before". Just my 2 cents.
    The biggest risk in life is not taking one.
  • Options