Options

How to land into your 1st IT Job?

#snoop#snoop Banned Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Recently I had been applying for my first IT job but never really heard from any companies or recruiters. Looking for any entry-level job in Washington DC area. I have a BS in computer science and have never worked in IT industry. It's been over 6 years since I graduated.

What would you advice me to do in order to get an interview call and convert it successfully into a job? I have been preparing for Network+ and also thinking of preparing for MCDST(may be that will land me somewhere). I had been running my businesses all these years and now want to get back to IT sector, but just can't break through.

Don't just read and ignore. Please write whatever you think I should do?
Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    #snoop wrote: »
    Recently I had been applying for my first IT job but never really heard from any companies or recruiters. Looking for any entry-level job in Washington DC area. I have a BS in computer science and have never worked in IT industry. It's been over 6 years since I graduated.

What would you advice me to do in order to get an interview call and convert it successfully into a job? I have been preparing for Network+ and also thinking of preparing for MCDST(may be that will land me somewhere). I had been running my businesses all these years and now want to get back to IT sector, but just can't break through.

Don't just read and ignore. Please write whatever you think I should do?
    Thanks!

I am by no means an expert, but I would say certs help. I am working on my certs and I would say that they have helped me alot. Go for certs. Also computer science is pretty broad, what are you trying to get into? with a BSinCOMPSCI I have seen people go into networking, some go into development, some go into research, and still some go into dba work.. What intrest you?
  • Options
    knwminus wrote: »