Options

First Cisco exam....

exx1976exx1976 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
So.. I'm registered for 640-822 (ICND1) this coming Wednesday. Clearly, I'm no newbie to the world of certification testing in general, but -- I have never taken a Cisco exam before.

I have read Odom's book, and I am able to pass the Boson test without a problem. My practical experience, unfortunately, is all LAN-side, no WAN side stuff. Between the place I work now, and the place I just left a few months ago, I have worked on:

2811's
45xxs with SUP V
65xxs with SUP-720/fabric cards
MDS 9506
2950's
2960's
3750's
3550's
25xx's
26xx's
Call Manager, Unity, etc VoIP stuff

I've set up trunks, VLANs, VSANs, all that fun stuff. I've studied and read and have a solid understanding of the WAN side of it all.

What else should I be doing in these final few days to prep for this exam? My company pays for certification exams, but only once. If I fail, the retake is out of pocket. I don't need that additional expense right now.

Comments

• Options
    miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    sounds like you should be fully prepared.

know subnetting backward and forwards
    watch the clock during the exam
    realize their is no is no mark and review, select the answer and move on.
    I don't claim to be an expert, but I sure would like to become one someday.

Quest for 11K pages read in 2011
    Page Count total to date - 1283
  • Options
    captobviouscaptobvious Member Posts: 648
    exx1976 wrote: »
    My company pays for certification exams, but only once. If I fail, the retake is out of pocket. I don't need that additional expense right now.
    Don't fail. icon_rolleyes.gif

You should be fine with the experience you have. Make sure you can subnet backwards a forwards.

Good luck! icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    wbosherwbosher Member Posts: 422