Log On script is being filtered out.

mallyg27mallyg27 Member Posts: 139
Can someone tell me why my script( Printer GP) is being being filtered out instead of being applied? I have the scipt in the correct folder. The policy is being applied to an OU that has only computers in it. The following is what gpresult gives me on the workstaion.

Microsoft (R) Windows (R) XP Operating System Group Policy Result tool v2.0
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. 1981-2001
Created On 7/27/2009 at 1:48:11 PM

RSOP results for TEST611\Administrator on 6V7VK11 : Logging Mode
OS Type: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Configuration: Member Workstation
OS Version: 5.1.2600
Domain Name: TEST611
Domain Type: Windows 2000
Site Name: Default-First-Site-Name
Roaming Profile:
Local Profile: C:\Documents and Settings\administrator.TEST611
Connected over a slow link?: No

COMPUTER SETTINGS
CN=6V7VK11,OU=611Computers,DC=ACORN611,DC=78B499,DC=TITO,DC=ORG
Last time Group Policy was applied: 7/27/2009 at 1:47:39 PM
Group Policy was applied from: 78B499DC01.TEST611.78B499.TITO.ORG
Group Policy slow link threshold: 500 kbps
Applied Group Policy Objects
Default Domain Policy
The following GPOs were not applied because they were filtered out
Printer GP
Filtering: Not Applied (Empty)
Local Group Policy
Filtering: Not Applied (Empty)
The computer is a part of the following security groups:
BUILTIN\Administrators
Everyone
BUILTIN\Users
NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK
NT AUTHORITY\Authenticated Users
6V7VK11$
Domain Computers

USER SETTINGS
CN=Administrator,CN=Users,DC=TEST611,DC=78B499,DC=TITO,DC=ORG
Last time Group Policy was applied: 7/27/2009 at 1:47:39 PM
Group Policy was applied from: 78B499DC01.TEST611.78B499.TITO.ORG
Group Policy slow link threshold: 500 kbps
Applied Group Policy Objects
Default Domain Policy
The following GPOs were not applied because they were filtered out
Local Group Policy
Filtering: Not Applied (Empty)
The user is a part of the following security groups:
Domain Users
Everyone
BUILTIN\Users
BUILTIN\Administrators
NT AUTHORITY\INTERACTIVE
NT AUTHORITY\Authenticated Users
LOCAL
Group Policy Creator Owners
Enterprise Admins
Schema Admins
Domain Admins

Comments

  • blargoeblargoe Self-Described Huguenot NC, USAMember Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    It looks like it is saying the Computer Configuration part of the GPO is empty, so there is nothing to apply to the computer.
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • mallyg27mallyg27 Member Posts: 139
    The computer configuration part is empty. The script is in the user configuration/windows setting/scripts(logon). Is there something I have to do on the client to get the script to run. I had the same script on my old 2003 server and it worked fine in that same location.
  • rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You need to link that to an OU with users.
  • mallyg27mallyg27 Member Posts: 139
    rsutton wrote: »
    You need to link that to an OU with users.


    I think this is whats confusing me. How do I link it to an OU with users? I have an OU for users already setup. What do I need to do from there?
  • Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    mallyg27 wrote: »
    I think this is whats confusing me. How do I link it to an OU with users? I have an OU for users already setup. What do I need to do from there?


    Computer settings work only with computers, user settings work with users.

    If you need to force user settings to a set of computers that are in a seperate ou from the users, you need to use Group Policy Loopback Processing.
  • blargoeblargoe Self-Described Huguenot NC, USAMember Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    In the GPMC, navigate the the OU that contains the users. Then, right click the OU and select "Link an existing GPO" or something similar.
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • mallyg27mallyg27 Member Posts: 139
    Hyper-Me wrote: »
    Computer settings work only with computers, user settings work with users.

    If you need to force user settings to a set of computers that are in a seperate ou from the users, you need to use Group Policy Loopback Processing.

    Thank you. That loopback policy worked perfectly.
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Loopback is a bad idea unless you really want to override ALL settings that might otherwise be applied to those users. Much better to do what blargoe said and link the GPO to the OU where the user accounts are located.
  • Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    astorrs wrote: »
    Loopback is a bad idea unless you really want to override ALL settings that might otherwise be applied to those users. Much better to do what blargoe said and link the GPO to the OU where the user accounts are located.

    Why is it a bad idea if you use the "Merge" option, so it doesnt wipe out their other GPOs??
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Check this out: Loopback processing with merge or replace: Group Policy

    Loopback processing is used in special circumstances. Why are you opposed to doing it the way they suggested?
Sign In or Register to comment.