Need advice

krazymofo24krazymofo24 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone I am currently preparing to take the CCNA exam in a few weeks. I am currently in Texas, and have an interest of getting in to I.T for my career. This is my first attempt at a certification, next month I am going to take classes at my community college to get started on MCSE, CCNP, and A+. If everything goes as planned I should have my A+, Two of the CCNP tests passed, and Windows server 2003, and XP certs by the end of this year.

Assuming I pass my CCNA exam, I wanted to know the best way to get started I know I'm in a bad position, because I don't have direct experience with Cisco routers, and networks. I am currently working at a big phone company providing tech support for customers and technicians. I provide support in configuring their routers, email clients, internet, tv, and voip.

This isn't a helpdesk position, and I am wanting to see if there is any way I can get a networking job, or system admin type job starting off without going through the helpdesk route.

If I set up my own lab and configure routers at my college during the time I was taking the CCNA courses can I tell employers that is my experience?

I unfortunately don't currently know the "right" people who can get me a job, I currently have to rely on sending resumes out. Any advice would be very helpful I would just like to know what all my options are, and the best ways of going about it.

Comments

• jbrad95706jbrad95706 Member Posts: 225
    This is more of a resume writing question then an IT question. Look at your current position, past experience, and certs. If your education is the #1 thing that you have going for you then list that first.

Beyond that - point out the things that you have done that would relate to the position that you want while drafting your resume.