Finding a Career Path & Establishing Goals

ServerProvidesServerProvides Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I'd like to go ahead and thank everyone for taking the time to read this (and hopefully reply with some good advice).

I've always been interested in computers and in high school I started taking programming courses which I thought were absolutely wonderful. I decided I wanted to make this my career. When I got to college though they only wanted me to take math, english, science, ect. and I quickly lost interest trying to get a "formal" bachelor's degree in Computer Science. This is when I found a local college offering two year AAS degrees in "Computer Engineering Technology" which I enjoyed greatly and even was able to get some experience working on the computer labs there. After finishing up my degree I worked as an PC technician and as an Internet Support Representative (Help Desk) for a very horrible ISP that will remain nameless. Frustrated with these low paying jobs and menial work (it's only fun to tell someone to plug their ethernet cable in so many times...) I decided that I wanted to go back to school. Now I'm about to start my senior year in Computer Science and I'm managing the CS labs for the school which is all very well in good, but I'm afraid that graduation is going to sneak up on me and I won't have a good plan of action afterwards. I really do enjoy coding, but after taking a few security classes in school this has really caught my attention as well. I've looked at positions in the security sector and it seems like to be good I need to be a jack of all trades knowing servers, networking, and coding to be able to effectively exploit machines (or prevent exploits). This finally brings us to the reason that I'm here. I'm curious what certifications would be worthwhile, and where I should spend my time studying to make myself more marketable.

A little more about myself...