Options

New member with a few questions

shogbertshogbert Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm new to the forum, but been reading it for a few months now.

I am just starting on the Cisco track with the CCNA.

My background is:
University degree in Computer-aided engineering (Engineering not I.T)
Just finished MCSE with Computeach after 2 years studying.
Currently working in an IT role for a network cabling company and wanting to get the company more involved in actually designing and configuring networks rather than simply installing the cabling.

I have the following equipment sat in my office ready to set up a lab:

approx:

50x Cisco 2950T-24 switches
10x Cisco 2950G-24-EI switches
2x Cisco 2960-24TT switches
1x Cisco 2504 router
4x Cisco 2621 routers
1x Cisco 2613 router
1x Cisco 2821 router

plus a few other devices & interface cards & cables etc...

I have various CCNA learning material and after studying with Computeach for the past 2 years it made me think that spending money with a training provider is a waste of time.

I plan on setting up a lab with the equipment I have plus any additional equipment I need.

I'm after some advice on what the best books/videos are to get started considering my background.
Also - I have read lots of guides on setting labs up, but I guess it can change a lot depending on the equipment you have available. Any advice on a good lab setup would be appreciated.

Thanks
Ian

Comments

• Options
    thenjdukethenjduke Member Posts: 894 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Ian,
    CBT Nuggets and Train Signal are most likely best nuggets for training. I would look into Sybex and Cisco Press books as well. I bought the Flash Cards from Cisco Press as well. There is a website for setting up labs that is useful. Wasting money on a training provider is a waste if the teach stinks.
    Earl
    CCNA, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCDST, MCITP Enterprise Administrator, Working towards Networking BS. CCNP is Next.
  • Options
    billscott92787billscott92787 Member Posts: 933