Options

Which videos provide the best training for your money?

WilliamK99WilliamK99 Member Posts: 278
Hey, I am currently working on my CCNA, I have many years experience with Cisco as a Network Admin, unfortunately, my experience is mainly with STP, Access Lists, basic Router configuration, and VLAN's on switches. I have never actually read a Cisco book but like I said, learned everything the hard way.

(I am in the Army, so rules about having to know your job before you work on it do not apply to me, I am told to learn something, so I do it, with no prior knowledge)

Now, I am currently in Army training for Cisco lol, funny how that works, and we are getting an abbreviated Semester 3 and 4 of the Cisco Academy, just enough to help us do our job, and I have decided to go ahead and study the rest of the way for my CCNA. I have Todd Lammle's book, the CCNA books you get with the Academy, and Packet Tracer. I am at a school, so buying Switches/Routers for a home lab isn't realistic, so my hands on will be mostly in class with simulations in my room.

Now my question is, does anyone recomend a video series that will help cement my knowledge, specifically something with strong WAN Protocol and Wireless training as those are probably going to be my weak points since I have never done those in my job...

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think both CBT Nuggets and TrainSignal have demo videos you can watch.

Jeremy is more "high energy & fun" and Chris is more focused and to the point.... and either is good as an additional study source beyond the books.

A total noob may like Jeremy (and CBT Nuggets). Someone with some experience may prefer Chris (and the TrainSignal videos).

But if you like happy talk morning radio, then Jeremy is Your Guy. If you're a news/talk radio kind of guy, then Chris probably is Your Guy....