Options

Cabling question / home network

TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
Im studying for my Network+ exam right now, i reading the chapter about cables and topologies. Anyway i came across a table in the chapter with the different types of UTP cables. And it triggered my curiosity to check my own cables on my home network. I noticed that all my cables are UTP CAT5 cables.

The book says CAT5 cables have 100MHz max frequency and 100Mbps max bandwidth but are no longer recognized by the TIA/EIA.
CAT5e on the other hand is recognized by the TIA/EIA and have 100MHz max frequency and 1000Mbps max bandwidth.

Now my real question, if i change the cables to CAT5e will i see a noticeable increase in speed that will make the cable replacement worth the trouble and the money?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Not likely. You'd also need decent quality gigabit switches, NICs, etc. What you have should be sufficient for streaming video, music, gaming, etc.
  • Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Cat 5e can supposedly run up to 1 GB, but I haven't seen it. You would have to invest in a lot of hardware. You could switch to Cat 6 instead.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Psoasman wrote: »
    Cat 5e can supposedly run up to 1 GB, but I haven't seen it. You would have to invest in a lot of hardware. You could switch to Cat 6 instead.

I run gig on CAT5e at home and in the office.
  • Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    i have seen at most 12mbps transmit on gig nics on windows based computers.. so gig or 100mbps your really not going to notice a big difference
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • Options
    snadamsnadam Member Posts: 2,234 ■■■■□□□□□□
    keenon wrote: »