Options

Study plan for CCENT

RandomHero84RandomHero84 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I am new to the IT world. I recently completed my Associates Degree in IT but have quickly found it will get me nowhere fast. I am now pursuing my CCENT and hope to obtain my CCNA shortly after. My question to you guys is: what should I focus my study time on for the CCENT? Does anyone have an outline to follow or a few pointers to maybe give me an advantage when studying? I have purchased the Bryant Advantage Study Package as well as the Official CCENT/CCNA official exam certification guide by odom. Is there anything else I need? Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    That's a good start. Do you have any equipment, dynamips/dynagen, simulators, etc.?

Welcome to the forums, btw :D
  • Options
    jovan88jovan88 Member Posts: 393
    I would say focus a lot of your time on subnetting.

Grab a router and a switch or atleast use packet tracer so you can get the feel of what your learning about.

Lastly, I would recommend CBT nuggets, it really helps you understand the concepts which may seem fuzzy from textbook reading.
  • Options
    jjbrogjjbrog Member Posts: 149
    Is a associates degree that worthless? I just started college for network administration.....if I am waisting my time would be good to know...
    Started a forum for networking students, its new and needs people!
    http://netadminstudents.zxq.net/phpBB3/
    HTC students encouraged to join :)
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    jjbrog wrote: »
    Is a associates degree that worthless?
    Yes -- if you thought that it was a magic ticket to a job and the extent of your career planning to date has been:
    1. Get Associates
    2. Have Great Job that Pays Well Fall into Lap

Try something more like this:
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/45813-career-expectations-planning-advice.html