Need Help

random12345random12345 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been studying for Security+ on and off for about two years. I took a week long security+ class about 2 years ago, and since then every few months I would push myself to take the test, but I would always be too nervous that I'd fail. I've never done a cert test before. I have a bachelor degree in the topic, so the concepts are nothing new to me. Recently I have the time to finally do it, and I'm going to make myself do it one way or another. My problem? I waited too long, and I don't have much SY0-201 resources. Is this one much different than the old one that I would absolutely fail if I went off of the old version's learning material?

I bought the Transcender practice questions, and I'm a little disappointed in them. They seem to be almost exactly like my Exam Cram MeasureUp questions from SY0-101 with absolutely no new topics, so I'm wondering if they merely relabeled their old questions as "new".

As far as their theory goes- if I was to study their practice tests until I can get 100% on all of them, would that "guarantee" that I pass the security+ test? When I first started studying again, I was getting around 80% on the "old" material. I'm averaging about 90% on practice exams now.

Finally, are the (legal) practice exams out there pretty dead on with how the actual exam is? I notice many people here saying they passed with nothing but the Syngress book and Transcender, and many people getting 90%+ with very few failures... Is the test actually shockingly easier than the practice tests?

Thank you for bearing with the long (first) post I made.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The vast majority of the material is the same, so you should still be in pretty good shape. Hit up the objectives and see if there are any areas you feel weak in. A little googling/wikipedia research will help fill in any gaps.