Options

Senior in college - Direction after graduation?

mav2005mav2005 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am currently a senior in college and my major is Management Information Systems (under the Business Administration umbrella) with a 3.8 GPA. Upon graduation day, I'll have five years of experience working as a systems administrator. In addition, I've handled all of the typical desktop support roles for ten users.

The setup that I administer includes three servers running Windows 2000 and Windows 2003 and one SQL Server 2000 installation. I have experience with Microsoft Dynamics, a CSC claims management software package, and Web Intelligence reporting software (BusinessObjects). I've also handled the installation of a Watchguard firewall and some limited configuration of a CISCO 2500 router.

Currently I am finishing up the MCSE 2003 certification and then I'll be completing a SQL Server certification in collaboration with upgrading from SQL 2000 to SQL 2008.

What jobs can I look forward to upon graduation from college? Would I qualify to take on a systems administrator role for a larger business? The business I work for only has ten users, so I don't have the large server farm experience. Are there any certifications for Web Intelligence reporting software from BusinessObjects? I am also interested in the database administrator jobs, but they seem to be hard to get. Any advice on my situation or what I could do to improve my odds of finding a good paying IT job?

Thank you

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Wow, you seem to be in pretty good shape with a degree, experience, and certifications. I'd work on your networking (in regards to people). Try and make some contacts on linked-in, user groups, etc. Check out this thread for some other suggestions.

Also, would the Business Intelligence Developer MCITP be what you're looking for?
  • Options
    L0gicB0mb508L0gicB0mb508 Member Posts: 538