Which exams in which order

origdavorigdav MemberMember Posts: 39 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm not sure where to focus my attention regarding exams. My situation is this:

- I'm one exam (70-291) off being MCSA 2003
- I'm about to go on a Server 2008 course
- I'm also studying for Exchange 2007 (70-236)

This is the plan I've come up with...

- Since I'm going on this course it'd surely be silly to not study for and hopefully be qualified as an MCITP: Server Administrator.

- I think it'd be better to have both MCSA 2003 and MCITP so would people agree doing the upgrade exam (70-648 ) instead of 70-640 and 70-642 would be the better idea? This way I'd be both fully MCSA 2003 and MCITP. Can I do the upgrade exam before technically passing 70-291?

- Does anyone think it's a waste of time doing 70-648 and I may as well go for the separate exams as I'd still have to pass 3 anyway:

70-291 + 70-648 + 70-646 or
70-640 + 70-642 + 70-646

Thanks

Comments

• Tin_ManTin_Man Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Why stop at your MCSA? Why not achieve MCSE status?

MCSE is still the desired cert to have, not many job's are looking for MCITP just yet. I'm sure it will come around but its a SLOW process.

If it were me, I would finish the MCSE 2K3 track then take the upgrade exams to MCITP (646,647) exams.
    WIP: 70-647 (5%)
  • origdavorigdav Member Member Posts: 39 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It's a good question - I'd probably prefer to get the MCSE equivalent in 2008 than study 5 year old technology to be honest.
  • msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    origdav wrote: »
    It's a good question - I'd probably prefer to get the MCSE equivalent in 2008 than study 5 year old technology to be honest.