Options

Hey guys! I'm new here and I have a few questions regarding certs.

nkpnkp Member Posts: 1 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I'm new here to techexams.net and I had a few quick questions and advice on certifications. Currently I am studying at my local community college for my A.A.S in Computer Information Systems with the option to eventually transfer for my B.S. (If I can afford it and have the credits to transfer) Anyways, I have only been studying at my school for about 9 months or so now and the only cert I currently have is the Certiport IC3 (not really IT related) My question is, what certs would you specifically go for and what order? I have a very good knowledge in computer hardware, software, and some networking. (I start Cisco training in the Fall) I do know that the CompTIA certs should come first and I have been ready for my A+ for a while now (Procrastination is evil) but what should come next? I guess my ultimate goal is to become a network or system administrator. Also, I am not very knowledgeable in Linux other than basic Ubuntu, do you guys feel that it is a must to learn and become certified in Linux?

Thanks for your time and I'm glad I found this site! icon_thumright.gif

Comments

• Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Welcome to the site!

My opinion: do the A+, do CCNA, then get MCSE.

A+ is foundational for service jobs, but you need to know hardware anywhere you go.
    Whatever you do, you need networking background so CCNA is the beginning, and you will need Microsoft operating systems wherever you go, so work for MCSE or one of the other Admin/Engineering certs.

Learn linux as you go. Try different flavors and upgrades--it never ends! But kernel will always be kernel. You can decide on linux certs later.

Good luck!
    "It doesn't matter, it's in the past!"--Rafiki
  • Options
    brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218