Options

Career Direction?

curtisdaleycurtisdaley Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been studying IT for two years now, in this time i have provided extensive support to the Windows XP computers in the School/College labs, used for hardware maintenance/desktop support and CCNA activities. I've completed 3 classes there in 2 years, IT Essentials, CCNA1 and CCNA2, i'm off to University in a month, just wondering, where i should be aiming for Career wise? Thoose that have been working in the field, in several different scenario's, did you prefer the ISP field dealing with just routers and switches or the Office field dealing with the Server stuff too! I fancy myself a just a Network Engineer at an ISP once completion of my CCNA (I'm on the 3 mini course of it, LAN Switching and Wirless!) aswell as other things! In a world which is being very competive would be good to also have an MCSA aswell as a CCNA even though i want to work in an ISP and not a Office?!

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If you don't want to work with Windows then the MCSA is worthless to you really. If you want to work as a network engineer at an ISP then you will want to look more into Cisco and Juniper certifications.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    Thats what i was thinking, i'm doing CCNA, once i get Olive sorted out, i will do JNCIA! What do you do?
  • Options
    kimanydkimanyd Banned Posts: 103
    He pimps routers and switches.
  • Options
    Network Engineering : Routing & Switching vs System Ad: Servers?
  • Options
    Thats what i was thinking, i'm doing CCNA, once i get Olive sorted out, i will do JNCIA!

Sounds like a plan to me icon_thumright.gif
    What do you do?

When I'm not trying to take over the world I'm an engineer at an ISP.
  • Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    Thats what i was thinking, i'm doing CCNA, once i get Olive sorted out, i will do JNCIA!