Reentering after 7 year absence

exgeekexgeek Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Coming out of retirement at age 51 - I have 9 years rich experience in networking from 1993-2002, and an entire career in IT before then. I had a CCNA which lapsed in 2005 - question is would be be worthwhile to try to reobtain my CCNA outright, or should I try the CCENT then CCNA. It seems there is some overlapping study requirements between the two exams.

Comments

• TBellamyTBellamy Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Wecome back, young fella.

icon_wink.gif

You will have to learn the same stuff either way. I did the two exam route because I wanted to be tested on more questions as learning was my primary goal, and getting the cert was secondary.
  • NeekoNeeko Member Posts: 170
    exgeek wrote: »
    Coming out of retirement at age 51 - I have 9 years rich experience in networking from 1993-2002, and an entire career in IT before then. I had a CCNA which lapsed in 2005 - question is would be be worthwhile to try to reobtain my CCNA outright, or should I try the CCENT then CCNA. It seems there is some overlapping study requirements between the two exams.

The curriculum has changed so I wouldn't say it would just be a case of refreshing what you learned in 2002 as there is new topics and things were changed quite a bit.

That said either way is fine, but most tend to opt for the CCENT first. The CCENT topics are built upon in the ICND2 and things flow nicely into the second group of topics.

Seeing as you have plenty of experience and have done CCNA before I'd say take a look at some study material for the CCENT and get a rough idea of how comfortable you are with it and whether you would want to double the load by learning all the ICND2 subjects for one exam.
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The CCENT gives you another "search term" that may get your resume pulled from the pile (or selected from the database).