Options

IPv6 impact on need of net admins

livenliven Member Posts: 918
Sorry if this is the wrong place for this, but I am studying BSCI.

Well IPv6, you think it could reduce the need for network admins... Am I crazy? I know it will be along time before ipv6 will replace ipv4. I know this because I work for a global ISP and we use virtually zero IPv6. Yes I know it is out there, but out of the thousands of our global devices I admin I have seen IPv6 address a couple of times give or take....

So does anyone here work with IPv6 a lot? Has it made things easier or harder? Do you think it will impact the need for net admins?

Just looking for peoples opinions.
encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    We haven't deployed IPv6 yet, but I don't see how it would reduce the number of admins. Some one still has to run the network whether its running v4 or v6.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The only thing I see affecting admins are the Consulting Companies circling and hoping to swoop down on the networks with their "IPv6 solutions" and get a chance to staff the network with their "IPv6 experts."

I'd say the IPv4 and IPv6 interoperability adds some work -- but not enough to justify bringing in the Consulting Companies so they can pitch outsourcing all network administration to them.

With IPv6 addresses I tend to copy and paste a lot more -- so fewer typos seems to offset having to dig through larger blobs of IPv6 information in command output.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm supposed to be starting a new job testing IPv6 for a major telco in the next few weeks, its a 6 month testing gig.
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options