Options

CISSP -- Certification Should i go for it

HussainkhanHussainkhan Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I m new to this forum but i have been reading a lot before joining this..
I have two years of full time experience in it security mainly in the endpoint security.. i am planning to go for cissp but could not wait for the five years to complete....but i have a four years Engineering degree

Can anyone guide me how i can go about it.....can i appear for cissp associate........but i dont want to take sscp.......

I hope some one from the forum will get back to me....

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Yea, you'll be an associate until you meet the experience requirement. You can also waive a year with one of these certifications: (ISC)² Security Transcends Technology
  • Options
    GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm going to go the opposite and say no. Certifications should be done to showcase your current skills. Especially when you're dealing with management level certs.

Think of it like being a consultant. Anyone can say they consultant but the only ones who will get anything done are those who have spent years perfecting there niche. That's why they get paid the big bucks not because of the title/cert they hold.
  • Options
    ParthParth Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hussain if you have the money, go for SSCP (doesn't have great value in India). But SSCP will prepare you for CISSP and is worth it.

If you want to go for technical side of security (analyst, architect or engineer) go for GIAC certifications. Certification Roadmap

If you want return for money *quick* for the cert but want to learn vendor specific go for CCSP or CCIE - Security (I doubt if there is a CCIE - Security from India).

Go for CISM / CISA if you want to go to managerial side of information security.