Options

Help mapping to a PC

BigLouBigLou Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a router at home with 2 PCs connected to it. From time to time I like to transfer files/folders between both PCs so I map to them (\\hostname\c$) and I just drag folders/files back and forth with no issue.

I recently had to reinstall the OS on one of my PCs (both use XP) and since then I can no longer map between the two PCs. I go to map network drive > select a drive letter > enter \\hostname\c$ > click on different username > then for the credentials i enter hostname\administrator with the password and when I click finish It does not connect, I just keep getting re-prompted for the password > sometimes the credentials box will have the username portion greyed out and its just asking me for the password.

I have fixed this problem once before but for the life of me I cannot remember how I did it. Being that I work in IT I am pretty upset at myself that I cant figure it out. Im sure its something very simple. The firewalls are off, I can ping both machines hostnames and IPs back and forth, i dont think its the accounts since I am using the built in administrator account so what could be preventing me from mapping between the two PCs?

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Can you even connect to the share (i.e. in Windows Explorer)? It doesn't sound like the problem is isolated to mapping the drive.

I'd check the security log on the machine you're trying to connect to.
  • Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You should take a look at the Local Security Policy too. I think that's where the source of the problem. Let us know if you're still struggling.
  • Options