Sec+ carryover to CISSP

dorawedorawe Member Posts: 106
Question for everyone,
How much of the Sec+ cert info is carried over into CISSP cert? I'm studying for the Sec+ right now, but want to move on to CISSP once finished. Any info would be appreciated.

Comments

• DominicV3DominicV3 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I took the CISSP exam just shy of 2 weeks ago. I spent about 3 hours to answer the 250 questions and took another 2 hours to review my work. I left the exam feeling as if though I gave birth, but I felt like I "probably" passed. As an insurance policy I took the Security+ examination a few days later to ensure that I'm compliant with DoD 8570 in case I happen not to pass the CISSP. I ended up getting an 852 on the Security+ without even trying. I didn't even go back and check my questions and only spend a day reviewing the Security+ material. With this examination experience under my belt I would recommend that everyone do the opposite of what I did and prepare for the Security+ exam first. A good deal of the information in Security+ was totally relevant towards the CISSP. After taking and passing the Security+ and having a security certification under your belt, build on that knowledge and study for the CISSP. You will already have a good foundation and about half the domains under your belt from your studies with the Security+. I'm still waiting for the results of the CISSP exam and will keep everyone posted. The worse part is the wait and just not knowing...
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I believe the Security+ material will cover the table of contents in a CISSP book ;)

Good luck guys icon_cool.gif
  • DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588

It's is a logical step and if you're studying Security+ and truly learning the material, you have a good start on the CISSP. There's especially a lot of crossover with the cryptography objectives.