Options

XP or 7?

ronzillaronzilla Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been studying for about a week now for the 70-270 exam. I am on the chapter for deploys. Now I have been a desktop/network support tech for almost three years now, and I have never used RIS, MS's VPN configuration, RAS, MS remote software,etc... I also do not know anyone who has. We use Ghost, cisco vpn, dameware, and lots of other utilities and I think most companies use others as well. So, I find myself a little discouraged studying for something I will never use. My goal is the MCSE and I want to start with an easy exam since I am very familiar with AD, SMS and XP. I figured XP would be the easiest test but I am finding a lot of the questions and scenarios don't exactly exist on the job, or at least not anymore. Although a client OS exam is needed, I also see an option for the windows 7 exam, but I don't see a lot of study aides for it. So I am hoping to get some insight from some people who have some experience with certs, or someone who has taken both. I took a practice test on transcender and scored a 71% should i continue with XP? Or just go for win7?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I am on the fence about the MCSE now days. It's fading away along with XP/2003. 2008 is a winner, and so is Windows 7. Additionally if the economy keeps moving as it is, there should be a surge in IT spending as ignored infrastructures start getting much needed updates.

It can't hurt of course...

The easiest exams for the MCSE are 70-620 and Security+. Though, given your background you might want to knock out the MCDST first. Just to get a feel for Microsoft certifications as give your resume a quick, cheap jump start.

I guess i am saying XP, MCDST >> MCSA >> MCSE then go and snag the MCITP in 7.
    -Daniel
  • Options