Best books to buy

hansie350hansie350 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a new student to the world of IT and have started with the 70-270 course. I would just like to know which books are best to buy and which are best value for money cos I am short in that department. Any input would be thankfully accepted.
Full steam ahead, and F*$& the icebergs!

Comments

• garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    I passed with Exam Cram2.
  • allylaurenteallylaurente Member Posts: 131
    MS Press
    "...don't wait for miracles, be the miracle" - Bruce Almighty
  • EluderEluder Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Que Publishing's 70-270 Training Kit (Exam Cram 2 publishers).
    I used that book and it was pretty good for my studying purposes.
    I suplemented it with Transcender's practice exams and those were a great help. Good luck!
  • mobri09mobri09 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 723
    I just started using the Exam Cram 2 and it looks like its going to be a fantastic book!
  • hansie350hansie350 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Is the 70-270 test a good place to start for a novice like myself or should I have started with one of the other modules first? Thanks for all the replies so far.
    Full steam ahead, and F*$& the icebergs!
  • garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    hansie350 wrote:
    Is the 70-270 test a good place to start for a novice like myself or should I have started with one of the other modules first? Thanks for all the replies so far.

Do you have experience with XP? Most people would suggest this order for Certs:
    A+
    N+
    MCP (70-210) or (70-270)
    and so on....
    If you are asking about where you should start on a MCSa/MCSE track - Yes start with 70-270 then work your way into server platforms..
    It really depends how much of a Novice you ARE? :)
  • vwtechvwtech Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've been working in the field for about two years. I've earned A+, Network+ on my own. Now it on to 70-270.