Options

How Much Study Time?

MoInSTLMoInSTL Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have had my A+ since 1999 and Network+ since 2002. Both ancient history. I am getting ready to start Security+ . I have no security experience and little networking. I am about to start a training program that is a combination of CBT Nuggets, CompTIA Security+ All-In-One Exam Guide 2nd Edition, lots of hands on labs, testing after each section before moving on to next section, onsite instructors. It seems like a fairly well rounded program. I will also check out various free practice sites/resources.

I am interested in knowing if anyone else who has a similar background how much time it took to learn before feeling comfortable taking the exam? I realize everyone is different, I am just looking for the time it takes in general.

Thanks in advance!
Just started 70-290.

Comments

• Options
    lineline Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    After about a solid 4-5 weeks of studying I felt ready to test. I took another week or so to cram to the point I could quote the examcram book.

Just don't get frustrated when you hit a topic that doesnt make sense.
    A good understanding of the TCP/IP stack and OSI model would help.

Just take it one concept at a time and put some muscle memory with it (labs) to reinforce what you've learned.

Good luck!!
  • Options
    Thanks for the quick reply. I forgot to add that in addition to the other training & labs there is also CBT.

I'm not crazy about the OSI model but I have been exposed to it somewhat when I was studying for Network+. Same for TCP/IP.

I was already thinking about 4-6 weeks. You post helped reinforce that. Thanks!
    Just started 70-290.
  • Options
    I-ballI-ball Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I started the studying in mid-august and did the exam Oct.1

I used the Sybex book (read it cover to cover)and other resources on the web. I re-read a lot of subjects to make sure I fully understood the concepts.