Security interview on Thursday

qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□
I currently work as a Junior Network Admin.

I had 2 phone interviews last week for a IT Security Professional position for a company that does IT security audits and pen testing and was asked to come in for a 3rd interview on Thursday. After speaking with them they seem to be looking for some "young blood" to join the team and develop as a security professional. They said that this person would start out by doing the scanning.

What kinds of things should I be prepared for?

Comments

• tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would just focus on really basic stuff like common port numbers, importance of following/writing policies, how you keep up to date on IT vulnerabilities etc.

Sounds like a good entry level position and I would jump at the chance. Sounds like they want a excuse my language a "scan b*tch" to free them up to do other tasks but its good for you to get your foot in the door and develop rather than get a job where your stressing yourself out trying to catch up/learn.
  • qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Job Description:
    Participate in and perform Information Technology control assessments primarily with regard to financial institution clients throughout the New England area. Project review scopes include:
    • Internal network scanning,
    • IT infrastructure controls,
    • Application processing systems,
    • External network penetration testing, and
    • Social engineering.

Ideal candidate would have academic exposure to IT/MIS/Computer Science. Demonstrated ability to communicate orally and in writing is required. Accounting/Auditing experience is a plus.

Direct experience with and/or understanding of Windows Active Directory and electronic tools such as nessus would be very useful.