Options

Masters worth it???

stuartystuarty Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I need some advice on weather a masters in telecommunications is worth sacrificing certifications. I graduated 6 months ago with a 1st in computer science. I started working for a decent enough company and have just obtained my mcsa. i want to move away from Microsoft and aim for my ccsp. Although studying a part time masters is taking up so much time i am struggling to get certifications done. So is the masters worth it?? Should i just cut my losses with it and focus on my Cisco??

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    Depends on what you want to do and what the Masters program looks like. What are your goals? Can you give us a link to the program you're looking at?
  • Options
    GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Where you see yourself in 5,10,20 years are what should determine your education path.
  • Options
    stephens316stephens316 Member Posts: 203 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do you have student loans ? (Yes or No )Can you obtain your masters with out a student loan and pay for it through savings ? if the answer to this is YES to the first question then the answer is NO to your masters. If you can pay for the masters degree your self and have the ability to work then go for it. What would the tele com masters cover ? I would think something with more options would help you more. If you can not go for your masters then I would start with CCENT>CCNA>CCSP something along those lines. Do your self a favor after reading this go to your bank and open a NEW savings account for things you want, then take from each pay check any where from $50 to $200 and put in this account and within in a few months you will have enough built up to go for all your test and study materials. I hope this helps. If you want to know more feel free to PM me.
    Free Reading : History Books
  • Options
    ObdurateObdurate Member Posts: 108
    stuarty wrote: »
    Hi,