Options

Getting equipment for my CCNA lab

PetterDPetterD Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Im a newbie to this forum, and not too well experienced with Cisco, although ive done some simple configuration changes in the past.

Im trying to get my hands on some home-lab equipment for my CCNA (and hopefully CCNP in the future) lab.

I already got the following equipment:

Cisco 2900 switch (24x 10/100)
Cisco 2950 switch 24ports 10/100 and 2x10/100/1000

I got the opportunity to purchase the following equipment for a fair price:

Cisco 3560 router (with 8 serial interfaces)
Cisco 3560 Router (one serial interface and 1 10/100 ethernet)

Would these routers be enough for my CCNA/CCNP lab ?
Do you think i need more equipment (routers/switches) ?

Would also like to thank you for a great site with alot of interesting information for a Cisco newbie icon_smile.gif

Best Regards.
Petter D

Comments

• Options
    captobviouscaptobvious Member Posts: 648
    If you search the forum, there are many threads on buying equipment.

If the 2900 is an XL-EN then it would be good as a third or fourth switch. You'd want another 2950 as this supports the newer IOS commands.

I'm also assuming the routers are 3640 not 3560(these are actually L3 switches). If they are and the memory is maxed out, 128 DRAM /32 FLASH, then they would be good for CCNA and beyond.

Good luck and welcome to TE forums!
  • Options
    mensmens Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hey PetterD

I can most certainly hook you up. Answer my PM if you are norwegian.

3640 / 2950 are great for CCNA (and beyond for that matter). 3 switches are ideal for CCNA btw.
  • Options
    Thanks for the replies, ill take a further look at other ccna equipment threads :)

The seller states that the routers are 3560 routers (he is also selling a 3550 routing switch and some other switches/routers).
    Im actually not sure what type of 2900 switch i got here, it just says "Catalyst 2950 Series".