Options

What do you do?

forkvoidforkvoid Member Posts: 317
I think it would be quite interesting to see the spread of IT concentrations on this forum, plus it's interesting to see what people do for a living. I've tried my best to make the poll an encompassing as possible, without having too many options. If your job falls into two categories, pick the one that consumes the majority of your time and make a post. So, what do you do? (not what you aspire to do, but what you currently do)

For me, I do desktop support with a few forays into systems administration.
The beginning of knowledge is understanding how little you actually know.
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Options
    Knives OutKnives Out Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Nice poll!

I am a network admin and a videoconferencing MCU admin/support.
  • Options
    ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    Since there's no "Network Engineer" option I guess I'll pick net tech/admin... but, for the record, it makes me sad.
  • Options
    KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
    Since there is no pure comms I put network admin. Closest thing I guess.

I look after our data centre comms rooms for our 7 data centres in the south of england. About 250+ pure comms room 42u cabs that bring client traffic in and out of my company's data centres. About 15,000+ 42u cabs in all our tech halls combined just in southern uk. (2nd largest it outsourcer in the world apparantly) I also look after the hand off circuits in pop sites we have in global switch and telecity sites which handle 90% of the internet traffic into the uk.

My first day show around and "you'll be looking after this" was sum scary sh*t !!!