Options

CCNA Bootcamps help

kudarkudar Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a Bachelors in Network Engineering Technology and have been working as a Sys Admin for a small company for 6 months. I would like to get my CCNA ASAP and was thinking of going to a week long bootcamp.

What are the best/affordable camps for CCNA?
Should I do a CCNA/CCNP combo camp instead?

Are there any camps for around $1,000 that offer a guarantee and include test vouchers?

Networking vets input or suggestions are appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    I should also add that I plan on pursuing a position as a Network Engineer.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The official training courses or a bootcamp are fine when work pays for them. And even then you need to do a bunch of reading and preparation before the class/bootcamp so that you don't get lost on day 1.

A lot of bootcamps are just "**** camps." Some go as far as to hand out **** of the stolen exam questions, others just "teach from the ****."

A combo CCNA/CCNP camp would most likely be a "**** camp."

A real network engineer usually gets their CCNA and a JOB to gain experience -- then starts work on the CCNP to enhance their skills.

A CCNA/CCNP with no networking experience might get you a job on a help desk answering a phone and reading a script -- but so would experience working the drive through window at McDonalds and People Skills.

If work pays for it, try to take the ICND1/ICND2 courses from an official Cisco Training Partner/Learning Center. Otherwise look for a local Cisco Network Academy if you have to pay for it yourself -- it's not a fast option, but its a GOOD option.

Self Study can be as fast as you want it (and as how motivated and dedicated you are) -- and could even be your cheapest option. Depending where you are you can build a home lab or rent rack time -- and still do it a lot cheaper than a bootcamp.