Options

Job advice needed

pumpum Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi okay so I am recently qualified A+ IT technician and have been offered a job as IT technician, but all aspects. They said they would put me on trail for a few weeks. I only have experience of hardware related faults but they said they needed me to know a bit about everything. How would I know a bit about everything considering I have no experience in the IT industry except a bit of fault finding and repairs and upgrade? How can I pretend to know a bit about everything inluding servers and software applications?

Comments

• Options
    steve13adsteve13ad Member Posts: 398 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Just tell them. Their either let you go or their teach you how to troubleshoot it.
  • Options
    lineline Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    This is where it is paramount to get in gear and start learning as you go. Get on the job and first day start absorbing everything they are asking you to do. If it is a reputable company they will offer some sort of training, at least as to how the company ops work. This is the time you need to be taking notes and going home after work and hittin up google hardcore. Make yourself like a sponge and come back the next day prepared.

Invest in yourself bro, you can do it.
  • Options
    416_guy416_guy Member Posts: 70 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The worst thing you can do is to "pretend" to know things. If you don't understand just say so and make note of what you need to know for the job, maybe they'll explain it to you if not go home and research on it.

Just don't try to pretend to know, that'll make you look very bad the person who knows the stuff will know right away you don't know. The last thing you want them to know is your pretending.
  • Options
    lineline Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□