Options

No Interest in Current Job

ThePrimetimerThePrimetimer Member Posts: 169 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,
I need some advice. I currently work in the IT dept. of a local bank as a "IT General System Admin" (their title), which is basically supporting bank software. I basically just wait for the application not to do what its meant to do to have the user call me with the problem, fix it, and show them on their way. I also have to plan upgrades and streamline the work process for these programs, i.e. file movement. This job is boring me to death! I have an AAS degree in Computer Systems Technologies and my NET+. The degree focused on Cisco and I really took a liking to it. I am about 3/4 way through the first Odom book and am now starting the Train Signal training. I want to eventually get my CCNA. Anywho, I don't want to be in this job anymore. I know that experience is hard to get, but I feel like the experience that I am receiving is proprietary and something that I won't be able to take with me in my career in the IT field. Plus, they match me on my 401K, but if I leave before being there for 3 yrs, I lose what they've matched me.

Could I get some advice from you guys on what I do? I started with the company in Aug. of 2008, but I want to do the networking side of IT.

Help a guy out!!!!
"You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done"

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□