Quick question

ObdurateObdurate Posts: 108Member
Quick question for you all:

I just started my studies in ernest using Microsoft's Windows Server 2003 Environment Training Kit as my study book. Now, in the book there are examples and the examples are always talking about using two Servers and a workstation or two.

Is it necessary to have two servers running 2003?

~Obdurate~

Comments

  • ajmatsonajmatson Posts: 289Member
    I am starting on the 2008 path and have been told the same. I just built one server and use virtualization to create 'Two' servers out of the one hardware.
    Working on currently:
    Masters Degree Information Security and Assurance (WGU) / Estimated 06/01/2016
    Next Up: CCNP Routing Exam | Certified Ethical Hacker Exam
    Cisco Lab: ASA 5506-X, GNS3, 1x 2801 Router, 1x 2650XM, 1x 3750-48TS-E switch, 2x 3550 EMI Switches and 1x 2950T swtich.
    Juniper Lab: 1x SRX100H2, 1x J2320 (1GB Flash/1GB RAM, JunOS 11.4R7.5), and 4 JunOS Firefly vSRX Routers in VMWare ESXi 5.1
  • RootstonianRootstonian Posts: 64Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Yes, VMWARE or MS Virtual PC 2007 work great for creating multiple Servers and/or workstations.

    If I may add, and I was told this by others: I started on the 2003 Server track a couple of months ago. It was brought to my attention that the MCITP 2008 was a better track to start with... so I switched to Server 2008.

    Granted, 2003 is probably installed on a billion machines, but it's going to go away sometime :) And thoughts were shared that if you learned AD, DHCP, DNS, NAP, yada, yada on a 2008 box, you should be able to handle the same on a 2003 box.
  • undomielundomiel Posts: 2,818Member
    And if you learn it on a 2003 box you should be able to handle it on a 2008 box. It depends upon what exercise you are doing, some are served best with 2 servers and others are served best with just 1. And a few others it may be best to practice with more than 2. I fully recommend going the virtual machine route. It'll keep your hardware costs down a whole lot. The workstations aren't so important, since you can treat a server as a workstation easily enough.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • timoskitimoski Posts: 21Member ■□□□□□□□□□
    Is it really worth switching to 2008? Has to be millions more 2003 systems out there for now, and for the forseeable future I would have thought.

    I have thought alot about this, having started 70-290 not long ago. I have been told the best thing to do, is to definately do 2003, then go 2008 if you want as its only 2 more exams. Im told its stupid not to do it this way and get a solid grounding in 2003 first, then go 2008.
  • ajmatsonajmatson Posts: 289Member
    I wanted the same thing however, I am attending WGU at the moment and they have moved their curriculum over to 2008 for the certifications so I am going with that track. I feel if you can administer 2008 then you should be able to administer 2003 as well for the majority imho.
    Working on currently:
    Masters Degree Information Security and Assurance (WGU) / Estimated 06/01/2016
    Next Up: CCNP Routing Exam | Certified Ethical Hacker Exam
    Cisco Lab: ASA 5506-X, GNS3, 1x 2801 Router, 1x 2650XM, 1x 3750-48TS-E switch, 2x 3550 EMI Switches and 1x 2950T swtich.
    Juniper Lab: 1x SRX100H2, 1x J2320 (1GB Flash/1GB RAM, JunOS 11.4R7.5), and 4 JunOS Firefly vSRX Routers in VMWare ESXi 5.1
Sign In or Register to comment.