Options

Study Time

cjthedj45cjthedj45 Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey,

I just wanted to get some feedback on how long it took people to study and prepare for CCNA Security. I have my CCNA and I work in a mixed Desktop and Network engineer role. I have some on the job experience with Asdm, ACL, VPN which is covered in CCNA security. I'm going to use CBT Nuggetts and The CCNA:Security Exam Certification Guide. Mikej412 reccomended this is another post. I did a search and I think he was refering the Michael Watkins book so I may try this.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    cjthedj45 wrote: »
    Hey,

I just wanted to get some feedback on how long it took people to study and prepare for CCNA Security. I have my CCNA and I work in a mixed Desktop and Network engineer role. I have some on the job experience with Asdm, ACL, VPN which is covered in CCNA security. I'm going to use CBT Nuggetts and The CCNA:Security Exam Certification Guide. Mikej412 reccomended this is another post. I did a search and I think he was refering the Michael Watkins book so I may try this.

Thanks

I have been studying for a little less than 2 months. I think I will hit the 2 month mark on my scheduled test date (next tuesday). I think the Cert guide isn't that good (from what people who own both have told me). I am using the authorized self study guide.
  • Options
    mikem2temikem2te Member Posts: 407
    Hey,

Thanks
    About a total of 5 weeks for me. I was putting some hours in though.

The "Authorised self study guide, Implementing Cisco IOS network security" by Catherine Paquet is a good book, IMO it is better than the Michael Watkins book - it explains things better.

You do get a CD with test questions on with the Michael Watkins book though which are excellent prep for the exam.

Get them both if possible.
    Blog : http://www.caerffili.co.uk/