Options

Supporting a new product

bwillfordbwillford Member Posts: 64 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I work as a System Admin for a small business (50 or so users). I am the only IT guy and recently we purchased 3-4 blackberry's for some of the guys on the road. I have been asked to provide training on how to use these (email, attachments, ect.) but have no current knowledge of blackberrys. I requested that the company provide me one as a replacement to the current old nextel company phone I have. I was declined but still asked to provide training. Am I wrong for wanting to be provided the hardware they want me to support and train on?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    CompuTron99CompuTron99 Member Posts: 542
    bwillford wrote: »
    Hey guys, I work as a System Admin for a small business (50 or so users). I am the only IT guy and recently we purchased 3-4 blackberry's for some of the guys on the road. I have been asked to provide training on how to use these (email, attachments, ect.) but have no current knowledge of blackberrys. I requested that the company provide me one as a replacement to the current old nextel company phone I have. I was declined but still asked to provide training. Am I wrong for wanting to be provided the hardware they want me to support and train on?

Thanks.

We have a rule here, "If you want us to support it, we have to have it".

I don't think you are worong. Maybe see if you can use one of the BB's for yourself for a short time before giving it to the outside user.

I go here for info somtimes with ours:

www.crackberry.com
  • Options
    laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    I'd ask them how your expected to support, let alone provide training for a product that you have not used and see what they say.
    If that fails get a pdf manual print it out and issue that as your training notes for the users.

Some people have no idea!

ps nice link computron :)