Options

CCENT Home Lab - Physical or Virtual?

mengh33mengh33 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying and getting ready for my CCENT Exam.
After reading a lot about it, seems to be more about troubleshooting rather than just basic questions. I know the protocols, what they do, and how to subnet, just need to apply it and prepare for those simlets I've read o' so much about.

I am wondering if anyone has a good home lab setup they've used to help them get proper troubleshooting that helped them with the exam. How many routers & switches are adequate? Or would investing in Software be more beneificial in that it's how the tests are conducted?

Any help or suggestions would be much appreaciated!! Thank you :D

Comments

• Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I used real hardware + dynamips. If I could do it again I would just do it all on Hardware, I felt like I wasted a lot of time getting dynamips working properly. I also had issues with it crashing during my labs. Others here have had good results with Dynamips/Dynagen however.
  • Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    outside of the learning curve dynamips is awesome instant lab on most any pc
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • Options
    hexemhexem Member Posts: 177
    I prepared soley on packet tracer 5.2 for my CCENT studies...And it was great for it, you can see into each PDU for each step of encapsulation/decapsulation through the 7 OSI layer model, you can again look into frames as they leave a host and hit a switch, then as it's fowarded onto a router etc.

This really help's with the learning process, altho it doesn't help you're trouble shooting skill's, sometimes it's too easy to rely on checking as to why somethin'g didn't work the way you were expecting, and obviously in the real world you don't always get the chance to pause frames on there way along the network.