Options

Another new guys here

carnagelancarnagelan Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

Well, I am from south africa and 26 years old. I have NO certifications behind my name. When I left school I started working at a company that imports and does sales of CCTV equipment. I never new anything about computers when i started and blew up about 5 in the process of learning.

I started building PC based servelance recorders. My boss was a genius in IT and he showed and tought me a bit of VB. This was when vb6 was still out. Every saturday i went to the libruary to get books on Software devlopment and self taught myself. A week after working at this company my boss showed me linux and i really started loving it and the open source stuff. So i started learning linux.

For four years of my employment there building and supporting pc based DVR's, I got another job offer working at a linux company doing network admin, My linux skills started growing and i resigned.

Im now working at another company doing software developing and repairing electronics.

I am now fed up and tired of writing software. I don't have any certifications but would like to do my A+ and net+ to get started as my salory is much lower than what my skills are.

So end of February im going to go and get a book on CompTIAs A+ and read through it then write y exam the end of march and start on my Net+

Been reading through this forum for the past week and just eventually signed up, Its really useful:) thanks guys/guls
Current Certs: None Yet:(
Want to achieve in 2014: A+, Net+

Comments

• Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    Welcome to the forums!

Sounds like you have the work ethic and so obtaining your certs shouldn't be a problem, especially the compTIA certs, you'll breeze through those.

Anyway good luck and remember to ask alot of questions.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • Options