Who is benefited by having the Server+ cert?

SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
Which career path is the Server+ mainly geared toward?

Sys admins I'm guessing...I've never really heard much about this cert, wonder if this is something I should go after.
Current Certifications:

* B.S. in Business Management
* Sec+ 2008
* MCSA

Currently Studying for:
* 70-293 Maintaining a Server 2003 Network

Future Plans:

* 70-294 Planning a Server 2003 AD
* 70-297 Designing a Server 2003 AD
* 70-647 Server 2008
* 70-649 MCSE to MCITP:EA

Comments

• rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    In the 5 years I've been & looked for jobs as a Systems Admin, I have never seen a job posting ask for this certification. I believe this certification is geared towards System Admins & Data Center technicians however.
  • SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
    That's about what I thought, just figured I would ask.

Thanks!
    Current Certifications:

* B.S. in Business Management
    * Sec+ 2008
    * MCSA

Currently Studying for:
    * 70-293 Maintaining a Server 2003 Network

Future Plans:

* 70-294 Planning a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-297 Designing a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-647 Server 2008
    * 70-649 MCSE to MCITP:EA
  • petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    I think in 15+ years of working IT, I've seen this cert requested maybe a handful of times in posts. The cert does have some good knowledge and background, but you'll see more folks asking for A+ or Net+.
    Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
    --Will Rogers
  • Ron BrandtRon Brandt Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
    petedude wrote: »
    I think in 15+ years of working IT, I've seen this cert requested maybe a handful of times in posts. The cert does have some good knowledge and background, but you'll see more folks asking for A+ or Net+.