Bad flash on a 3550?

luke_bibbyluke_bibby Senior MemberMember Posts: 162
Just picked up a 48 port 3550 EMI switch off trusty old eBay and it arrived today. After downloading the latest IOS release for it, i am getting some weird errors when trying to t.f.t.p the file over into flash.

Here is a short log **** from the t.f.t.p server im using:

Read request for file <c3550-ipservicesk9-mz.122-44.SE.bin>. Mode octet [23/02 15:07:52.328]
Using local port 4701 [23/02 15:07:52.328]
Peer returns ERROR <Buffer overflow> -> aborting transfer [23/02 15:07:52.375]
Connection received from 192.168.1.20 on port 57557 [23/02 15:07:52.390]
Read request for file <c3550-ipservicesk9-mz.122-44.SE.bin>. Mode octet [23/02 15:07:52.390]
Using local port 4702 [23/02 15:07:52.390]
Ack block 18274 ignored (received twice) [23/02 15:13:28.062]
Ack block 18282 ignored (received twice) [23/02 15:13:32.671]
Ack block 18290 ignored (received twice) [23/02 15:13:36.984]
...........
Ack block 18490 ignored (received twice) [23/02 15:15:31.859]
TIMEOUT waiting for Ack block #18497 [23/02 15:15:46.875]

I've attached a piccy of my console session too.

Does this sound like bad flash?

Comments

  • tierstentiersten was here. Member Posts: 4,505
    Looks more like a network issue or a problem with the TFTP server.
  • luke_bibbyluke_bibby Senior Member Member Posts: 162
    That was my first guess but I just tested a transfer from my tftp server to a 2621xm and it worked OK.
  • kalebkspkalebksp Senior Member Member Posts: 1,033 ■■■■■□□□□□
    luke_bibby wrote: »
    That was my first guess but I just tested a transfer from my tftp server to a 2621xm and it worked OK.

    Did you use the same cable when testing with the 2621XM? Did you try different ports on the switch?
  • luke_bibbyluke_bibby Senior Member Member Posts: 162
    Yeah tried several different cables and ports but still no luck.

    I just tried to verify the existing IOS image on the switch using verify /md5 but it gave me a huge stack trace and restarted the switch....
  • mikej412mikej412 Cisco Moderator Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    luke_bibby wrote: »
    I just tried to verify the existing IOS image on the switch using verify /md5 but it gave me a huge stack trace and restarted the switch....
    If you already have an existing image on the switch, did you check that you have enough space for the new image too?

    Is the image you tried the verify in the root of the flash, or a directory?

    dir flash: should show/tell you.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • luke_bibbyluke_bibby Senior Member Member Posts: 162
    It was in root, so flash:/c3550.. etc - I checked it wasn't a directory it was the actual image

    And yeah there was enough space remaining on flash icon_sad.gif
  • luke_bibbyluke_bibby Senior Member Member Posts: 162
    Incase anyone is interested or has the same problem I had, I erased everything in flash, booted into rommon and used xmodem to (painfully) copy over the latest IOS into flash. I had a couple of issues trying to copy over the file at the highest baud rate (and kept getting xmodem I/O errors) but lowering it down to 57600 or something seemed to have worked OK.

    Thanks for everyone who commented :)
  • eleguaelegua Senior Member Member Posts: 282
    luke_bibby wrote: »
    Incase anyone is interested or has the same problem I had, I erased everything in flash, booted into rommon and used xmodem to (painfully) copy over the latest IOS into flash. I had a couple of issues trying to copy over the file at the highest baud rate (and kept getting xmodem I/O errors) but lowering it down to 57600 or something seemed to have worked OK.

    Thanks for everyone who commented :)

    Oh i remember my first 2924 switch i bought without IOS 5 years ago, xmodem its really painful but always fix these problems, i'll never forget that day.
  • mgeorgemgeorge Cisco Guru Member Posts: 774 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I've seen this happen to alot of people, change your tftp server and you'll be fine.

    Download solarwinds tftp server.
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1
Sign In or Register to comment.