Options

Job Offer and Current job Tango. Need Advice.

jsolarijsolari Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have quite the dilemma on my hands.

Right now I work at a very large telecommunications provider. I am in there NOC - extremely stressful and busy NOC. The schedule they allow me to work really works for my family (4 tens - and I get some OT on my days off).

With that being said that job pays mid 40s about 45k a yr.

I am really interested in this other job as a Senior Support Engineer. There I would not be on the phones all the time. I would be going to end user sites, working with Servers and Desktops along with a lot of networking (most of which my background is in). This would pay at least 10 grand more a year. I truly hate being on the phones 24/7.

The job I am at now is large so health care is cheap ($200 a month for my family).

I would love to give my current company a chance to make me stay. But is it "sketchy" to feel out this offer and then go to them and be like - look I have been receiving offers, i feel I have an obligation to my family. I love this company and want to stay - is there anything we can do?

Is there anything wrong with doing that? I feel its like extortion in a way. On my side I do have my review this friday. I have been at this company since July. In July I was laid off my other job and quickly was hired here. They do like me and want me to stay with the company.

Anyone have any insight?

Comments

• Options
    laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    No one else is gonna look out for your paycheck or your career other than you.

If you can get another offer on the table and are happy where you are then there is nothing wrong with asking for a raise.
    The only downside is you've highlighted to the company that your looking around (even if its only to gain a raise internally) and may put any thoughts of promotion etc at risk.