Laptop D/L at night

Darian929Darian929 Member Posts: 197
Hello fellow techies. I work as a computer technician at my job, which is a Home for the ages with over 500 users, and lately the internet has been super slow so the network engineer here setup a cisco switch outside the firewall for sniffing, and in the past 2 weeks, they have noticed that there is this laptop which is downloading mbytes and mbytes of stuff at night, over weekends and everything, and the person who uses it is not even there. The laptop does have gotomypc but the services are stopped and everything. You take it off the network and put it back on and within mintues it download 60+ mbytes.... so they gave me the laptop to check it out and see if there is anything uncommon like software trying to download stuff, its unplugged from the network and everything, but I see no unordinary services. I am no network expert so I was wonderring if you guys could advice me on any software or anything. thanks in advance

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like it is infected.
  • HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
  • Darian929Darian929 Member Posts: 197
    xmalachi, Ive scanned the hard drive with our anti virus and nothing, I will be trying that TPview
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Darian929 wrote: »
    xmalachi, Ive scanned the hard drive with our anti virus and nothing, I will be trying that TPview

I swear by MBAM. Out of curiosity, what are using for AntiVirus? We use Symantec Corporate and it leaves much to be desired.
    We have Mcafee, I scanned it with that and malwarebytes
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    scan for virus and spyware. If this still does not fix the problem, back up critical data only, RELATED TO WORK ONLY! then re-image the laptop, end of story! icon_wink.gif