What PVDM-256k should I load into my 1760?

What size PVDM-256k should I put into my 1760. What gives the best cost to DSP channel ratio? I can get PVDM-256K-4's for about thrity bucks, so if I filled both slots it would run me $60. Does that give me enough DSP channels? Should I spend more and get - 8 or -12 PVDM's? What do you guys run in your labs? Thanks for the help.
Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU

Comments

  • azaghulazaghul Posts: 569Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    A 256K-4 will let you run 2FXS, 2FXO
    A 256K-8 (or 2 256K-4's) will let you run 2FXS, 2FXO, plus 1 conference channel or up to 6 E1/T1 channels

    Or if you're on a tight budget, just get the 256K-4 and then plug and play the VICs as needed.

    Check here for more into on 1700 series DSP usage:

    hxxp://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/routers/access/1700/1751/software/feature/guide/dsp_cn.html
  • pitviperpitviper CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT Posts: 1,376Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    I guess it really depends on your study goals – If you just want to play around with some analog interfaces, then as azaghul said the best bang for the buck would be to get the PVDM-256K-4 and swap out VICs/VWICs. If you plan on going a little deeper and might possibly want to build a PSTN cloud, then get more DSP resources now, and eventually you can run a couple of network side PRIs on it later down the road.
    CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT
  • Corndork2Corndork2 Posts: 266Member
    I want to get the most functionality that I can. Can I mix and match unlike PVDM sizes? Since I'm budget limited, I'm thinking of doing one PVDM-256k-4 and one 2FXS card in my 1760... then adding another PVDM-256k-8 or bigger and the 2FXO later in the summer. Thoughts?
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
    CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
    Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU
  • azaghulazaghul Posts: 569Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    No problems at all doing mix-and-match with the PVDM's.

    As for adding as you go, sounds like a good plan.
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    I picked up 2 PVDM-12 DSPs from eBay for US$15.95 each SHIPPED!

    I have 2 1760s that had PVDM-4s in them. I just put one in each router and off I went.

    Genuine Cisco PVDM-12 DSP Module w/ 1-Year Warranty! - eBay (item 400112818218 end time May-01-10 12:06:54 PDT)

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • pitviperpitviper CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT Posts: 1,376Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    I picked up 2 PVDM-12 DSPs from eBay for US$15.95 each SHIPPED!

    I have 2 1760s that had PVDM-4s in them. I just put one in each router and off I went.

    Genuine Cisco PVDM-12 DSP Module w/ 1-Year Warranty! - eBay (item 400112818218 end time May-01-10 12:06:54 PDT)

    John

    Those actually worked in the 1760s? I thought that the 1760s only accepted PVDM-256K-Xs?
    CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT
  • Corndork2Corndork2 Posts: 266Member
    They do. The NM-HDV supports PVDM-12's.
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
    CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
    Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU
  • pitviperpitviper CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT Posts: 1,376Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    The auction posted above is for pvdm-12s which will work fine in the NM-HDV but the 1760s require pvdm-256-xs.
    CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT
  • mikej412mikej412 Posts: 10,090Member
    The docs DON'T say the PVDM-12s are supported..... but they work in my 1760s. I originally tried one from one of my NM-HDVs since the PVDM-12s were cheaper than anything else out there at the time.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • pitviperpitviper CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT Posts: 1,376Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    Good to know - the non-256ks are much much cheaper!!
    CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT
  • Corndork2Corndork2 Posts: 266Member
    Mike... Seriously? The PVDM-12's work in 1760-V's? I am trying this right when I get home. The price of one PVDM-256k-4 cost me slightly more than three of my PVDM-12's I have in an NM-HDV. The sad part about this entire thing is that the NM-HDV was just a good ebay catch. It was way to low priced to pass up... but Im not really sure how to utilize it yet. Oh well, time to study!
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
    CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
    Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU
  • kikeperez_81kikeperez_81 Posts: 3Registered Users ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello, a question, Who has tested the PVDM-12 on the 1751 router?, Does it work?, I want to buy this router but am not sure that works, the seller says yes.

    Cisco 1751-V 1751 router 64mb DRAM 32mb flash PVDM-12 - eBay (item 330430700547 end time Jul-04-10 12:36:09 PDT)
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    Hello, a question, Who has tested the PVDM-12 on the 1751 router?, Does it work?, I want to buy this router but am not sure that works, the seller says yes.

    Cisco 1751-V 1751 router 64mb DRAM 32mb flash PVDM-12 - eBay (item 330430700547 end time Jul-04-10 12:36:09 PDT)

    I can't say about the 1751, BUT I have these in 2 1760s and they work fine!

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • kikeperez_81kikeperez_81 Posts: 3Registered Users ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks for your answer, someone has another comment.
  • kikeperez_81kikeperez_81 Posts: 3Registered Users ■□□□□□□□□□
    I can't say about the 1751, BUT I have these in 2 1760s and they work fine!

    John

    What is the configuration of your router, IOS, memory?
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    What is the configuration of your router, IOS, memory?

    one has 128D 64F IOS Version 12.4(15)T11
    the other is 96D 48F same IOS.

    Both have dual PVDM 12 modules.
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • azaghulazaghul Posts: 569Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    I run multiple 1760's as branch offices;

    B1 = 64M flash and 160M dram, E1, PVDM-256k-12
    B2 = 64M flash and 160M dram, T1, PVDM-256k-8
    B3 = 48M flash and 160M dram, T1, PVDM-256k-8

    For CUCM as a "break-out" router 64M flash and 160M dram, PVDM-256k-20, 4FXS/DID, 4FXO

    all running IOS c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T13.bin
  • Corndork2Corndork2 Posts: 266Member
    I lucked into some PVDM-256k-20's

    So my two voice routers are:

    1760 64MB Flash / 196MB DRAM 2x PVDM-256k-20

    Both run CME 4.1 and 12.4T Advanced IP Voice IOS
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
    CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
    Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    Just got lucky. nm-hdv + 4x pvdm-12 for $41 + p&h(seeing if I can do local pickup)
    eBay Australia: Buy new & used fashion, electronics & home d
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    There's certainly some good stuff going on ebay at the moment.
    picked up another one
    eBay Australia: Buy new & used fashion, electronics & home d
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
Sign In or Register to comment.