Options

Needing Help on Selecting a router

Krusty_47Krusty_47 Member Posts: 74 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am new to cisco and I am wanting to start off with at least one piece of equipment. I was thinking I should get a router to use as my internet access router. So I'm as I am trying to stay budget minded here what I'm looking for.

My internet speed is 15 down and 2 up. I running newsgroups which require full download bandwidth, several websites, and I want access to my network via vpn. All of this is for personal use only.

1. 2FE ports
2. IPSEC vpn
3. Firewall
4. Advanced Enterprise IOS support
5. SDM support.

If anyone has any idea or know where I can get something with these options cheaply. Or hey if you are willing to sell something like this on the cheap, Please let me know.
Goals for 2011.

Graduate from WGU by Dec 2011. I have almost 80 CU's starting in February. This is also my new years resolution for 2011.

On the list for January 2011
Project+ and CIW Foundations.

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    a 2611XM would be the cheapest thing that meets those specs, though the CPU's in them aren't terribly powerful, and you'd run into issues downloading at a full 15megs with alot of the extra security features active (I can pull down 8 megs on my connection, and when I'm using BitTorrent, the sheer number of connections that the router has to handle for NAT pegs the CPU to the point where I can't get any SNMP info off of it)
  • Options
    mikem2temikem2te Member Posts: 407
    a 2611XM would be the cheapest thing that meets those specs, though the CPU's in them aren't terribly powerful, and you'd run into issues downloading at a full 15megs with alot of the extra security features active (I can pull down 8 megs on my connection, and when I'm using BitTorrent, the sheer number of connections that the router has to handle for NAT pegs the CPU to the point where I can't get any SNMP info off of it)