Options

Passed 70-656 MS Desktop Optimization Pack

ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637
Barely, with a 724, but a pass is a pass. This wasn't a test I would choose to take on my own, but it allows me to deliver proof-of-concept paid services around MDOP deployments. My bosses like my POC work and now that those engagements are leading to some proposals they want me to do even more. Whatever it takes to keep up my billable hours...

I took this last Friday morning before I took the 71-669 Desktop Virtualization beta exam. The App-V sections overlap so it made sense to take them both the same day, but it messed up my studying plan. When I decided to take both, I started studying for 669 and planned on picking up the 656 studying at the end. Last week was busy with an Exchange 2010 pilot and 3 Windows 7 deployment proposals which left me with little time for studying.

This one felt like a beta with 75 questions across 6 sections. They seemed to want to spread the question load evenly even though there are few question-worthy features on some of the MDOP products. There is only so much you can ask about DART, which means you get the same question asked different ways.

I used a mix of resources- My Resource Guide here and the Mastering Microsoft Virtualization book from Sybex. I wish I would have memorized more of the minutiae such as a feature and prerequisite matrixes for all the products, but I passed and I don't care enough to go back and look it over again.

Comments

• Options
    astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Congrats on the pass, I took this one during beta and I know what you mean about stretching some of the sections.
    Claymoore wrote: »
    ...but it allows me to deliver proof-of-concept paid services around MDOP deployments...
    Can you share any more about this? I'd love to know more about what partner initiatives there are around this and the requirements, etc.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□