Options

DCHP server on Vmware

GimmynoGimmyno Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys I'm not an expert on Virtualization and I'm having some problems with Vmware, basically I setup a domain on Win 2008 and a client (Win 7) for testing purposes, I installed the DCHP on the Server and Dns but I can't join the domain on Win 7 unless i manually type the IP address and DNS settings on the Win 7 Network Card,Is there a way I can get my server to automatically Assign Ips with the DCHP on Vmware to join a Domain?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    This is entirely possible. Did you configure and authorize the DHCP server?
  • Options
    Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    Install DHCP on the server. Create a scope with available addresses on the same subnet as the DC, with the DC's IP address as the DNS server entry. Authorize the DHCP server in Active Directory. ????. Profit
  • Options
    MarkCBMarkCB Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would consider switching to Virtual PC on a Windows 7 machine. I had created a VMWare lab for studying purposes for my MCSA, and I was able to get each VM routed through the appropriate NIC card on the VMWare server, but it was a huge pain. I'm not even sure I'd be able to do it again if I had to. A couple of months ago a decided to use Virtual PC on my Windows 7 machine and everything worked exactly how I wanted it to right away.

But if that isn't an option I would check to make sure that there is a DNS entry for the DNS server and an entry for the Windows 7 client.
  • Options
    MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Gimmyno wrote: »